Finalists Announced for the 2015 getAbstract International Book Award (Press Release)


The world is changing faster than ever before. Such volatility and uncertainty is frightening for some and exciting for others. getAbstract falls into the latter category, because changing environments always provide inspiration for great books.  The books getAbstract selects for its library are all relevant to business, but they share one other characteristic: They never advise “business as usual.”

getAbstract is proud to present the getAbstract International Book Award to the best business books of  2015. This year, getAbstract assessed more than 10,000 English and German business books in the fields of leadership and management, strategy, sales and marketing, human resources, economics and politics, finance, and career development, and we have selected 10 finalists.

The 2015 nominees are:


BOLD, Peter H. Diamandis / Steven Kotler, Simon & Schuster, Inc.
Design to Grow, David Butler / Linda Tischler, Simon & Schuster, Inc.
SAPIENS, Yuval Noah Harari, Harper/HarperCollins Publishers
Thirteeners,  Daniel F. Prosser, Greenleaf Book Group
Unretirement, Chris Farrell, Bloomsbury/Walker & Company


Die neue Ordnung des Geldes, Thomas Mayer, FinanzBuch Verlag
Die Schulden im 21. Jahrhundert, Daniel Stelter, FAZ-Buch
Sie wissen alles, Yvonne Hofstetter,  C. Bertelsmann
Update, Michael Steinbrecher / Rolf Schumann, Campus Verlag
Wer falsch rechnet, den bestraft das Leben, Christian Hesse, C. H. Beck

Two nominated titles from each language category will receive the getAbstract International Book Award, a coveted prize within the international publishing world. The official award ceremony will take place on October 14, 2015, from 16:00 to 17:00, at Frankfurt Book Fair’s “Lesezelt” in Frankfurt/Main.

This year, the award celebrates its 15th anniversary. When the getAbstract International Book Award launched in 2001, it was the first international prize of its kind to honor outstanding works in the field of business literature. Since then, getAbstract has presented the accolade to such esteemed authors as George A. Akerlof, Robert J. Shiller, Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Ian Morris, Benoît Mandelbrot, Malcolm Gladwell, Niall Ferguson, Joseph Stiglitz, Thomas Sowell, Chris Anderson, Peter Sloterdijk, Gunter Dueck, Uwe Jean Heuser, Wolfgang Münchau and Hans-Werner Sinn.

For more details about previous award winners, please go to www.getAbstract.com/Bookaward.

%d bloggers like this: